Vor Frelsers Kantori

Copenhagen, Denmark

Lars Sømod conductor


Vor Frelsers Kantori aims at exploring all aspects of choir music within the European classical tradition. Not discriminating between secular and sacred music, the choir has acquainted itself with the whole scope of classical choir music, from early Renaissance pieces to contemporary compositions. But as the competition program reflects, the choir takes a special interest in music from the 20th and 21st centuries. Vor Frelsers Kantori is an independent choir, but it is housed by Our Savior’s Church in Copenhagen, and participates regularly in the church’s services and events. The Ohrid Choir Festival is the choir’s first participation in a choir competition.

Lars Sømod is considered to be one of the most distinguished Danish organists. For years, he has been a frequent organ soloist at concerts throughout Northern Europe, and as conductor of several chamber choirs, he has become an influential figure within Danish choir culture. Beside his job as an organist at Our Savior’s Church and conductor of Vor Frelsers Kantori, Lars Sømod is also a productive composer. In 2018, the choir participated in the performance of Lars' Requiem.

In a country where more people are said to sing in choirs than play football, Copenhagen is in all ways representative of the Danish song tradition where singing together is thoroughly institutionalized and practiced at any kind of event – weddings, funerals, graduation parties, and in any kind of social context – from kindergartens to corporate companies.


Title Composer Lyrics
Timor et Tremor
(Fear and trembling)
Francis Poulenc (1899-1963) Psalm 30 and 54,
Book of Psalms
Ave Generosa
(Hail, girl of a noble house)
Ola Gjeilo (b. 1978) Hildegard von Bingen (1098-1179)
Kumanovka 2 Trajko Prokopiev (1909-1979) Traditional
Fadervor (The Lord’s Prayer) Sven Erik Werner
(b. 1937)
Och jungfrun hon går i ringen
(The Maiden and the Runaway Groom)
Hugo Alfvén (1872-1960) Traditional
Sing Joyfully William Byrd (1543-1623) Psalm 81, Book of Psalms
Agnus Dei (Lamb of God) Niels la Cour (b. 1944) Traditional liturgical text
Benedicite Domino
(Praise the Lord)
Vagn Holmboe (1909-1996) Psalm 120, Book of Psalms